Connecticut DWI/DUI Driver's License Suspension
Criminal Court Driver's License Suspension
If you are convicted of DWI/DUI in Connecticut, you
could face the following period of suspensions:
Number of DWI/DUI Offenses vs. Length of License
If You Are Convicted of DWI/DUI in Connecticut:
- First Offense = One year.
- Second Offense = Two years.
- Third Offense = Permanent driver's license revocation.
You also face a possible suspension of your driver's
license while your criminal case is in process.
Note: there is a difference between an arrest and
a conviction. Lawyers say that a conviction is "an adjudication
of guilt." What that means is that you admit that you are guilty
or a judge or jury finds you guilty of breaking the law. As the
headlines from time to time show, merely being arrested is not the
same thing as being guilty. In the long run, it is the conviction
that counts against you, not the arrest.
You must know that if you drive after your license
has been suspended for an alcohol-related offense, you could be
sentenced to up to one year in jail and you will serve at least
30 days. However, I can help you apply for a work permit to drive
to and from your job or school.
Restoration of your driver's license after a suspension
Near the end of your driver's license suspension hearing,
you can send to the Department of Motor Vehicles a $125 fee and
a form to have your driver's license restored. However, in applying
for the restoration of your driver's license, you might tip off
your insurance company who may increase your insurance rates. Insurance
companies can find out about DWI/DUI driver's license suspensions
in a variety of ways, but the most common way is when you apply
for the restoration of your driver's license.
Depending on your age and your prior driving record,
your car insurance rates may increase from $3,000 a year to more
than twice that amount. Perhaps worse, increased rates may prevent
you from being able to afford as much insurance as you would otherwise
need. This may leave your personal assets out in the open.
Appealing Your License Suspension
Just because the DMV suspends your license does not
terminate all of your rights. You can, if you elect, appeal the
DMV's ruling to the courts. These appeals are complex and involve
detailed areas of the law. The courts can restore your license if
the DMV gets it wrong.
Learn More About DWI/DUI
Law in Connecticut
When so much is at stake, it does not make sense to
take a chance with your future. For more information about the consequences
and defenses in a Connecticut DWI/DUI case, please select from the
Free Attorney Consultation
To discuss your case with Connecticut lawyer Christopher
Duby, call 203-234-2888 24 hours a day or complete our simple contact
My philosophy as a lawyer is simple:
- Put the client first
- Respond to phone calls
- Schedule a free initial consultation no matter
what your case is about
The Law Office of Christopher Duby LLC is located
at 22 Broadway, North Haven, CT 06473. View
Google Map and directions.
Christopher Duby represents clients in New Haven County, Hartford
County, Fairfield County and Middlesex County in Connecticut, including
the communities of New Haven, Hamden, North Haven, East Haven, Branford,
Madison, Milford, West Haven, Cheshire, Meriden, Wallingford, Guilford,
North Branford, Woodbridge, Bethany, Monroe, Trumbull, Easton, Fairfield,
Stratford, Bridgeport, Oxford, Beacon Falls, Seymour, Ansonia, Derby,
Orange, Shelton, Clinton, Westbrook, Old Saybrook, Middletown, Middlefield,
Portland, Durham, Prospect, Naugatuck, Wolcott, Waterbury, Watertown,
Middlebury, Woodbury, Southbury, Southington.